A useful life lesson learnt in 2013

I do a lot of self reflecting on my own time. Although it makes me question myself a lot, as well as lower my self esteem; there are times when it is deemed very useful. Most of my epiphanies stem from self reflections. It stimulates my thinking; which is so something, unfortunately, that I don’t do very often.

My sudden outburst of realization actually sprung from a conversation with a friend of mine. I used to dread talking to this friend, because friend comes to me with nothing but problems friend is always experiencing.

Sometimes when people tell you their problems, it’s easy to get caught up along with the person’s conflicts and feelings. When this happens, it gives me a lot of stress. There’s this sense of responsibility in me that I have to resolve the issue. I get cranky, pull out my hair and bang my head against the wall. However, I learnt that you need to give the person advice and not walk around with the weight on your own shoulders. You simply give in your two cents, and walk away. You may choose to stay to listen, but remember not to conjoin the person’s perspective with your own. This way, you will be able to give the person a good piece of advice with an open mind. It’s important to learn to help others without adding on stress to yourself.

I hope everyone has a great new year! Cheers to 2014, to new beginnings. Next post will be in a year! Toddles!

XOXO.

-C.

Leave a Reply

